Skip To Main Content

Lower School

Chapel * STEAM * Service Projects * Project Based Learning * Natural Playscape 
Music * Foreign Language * Art * Library * Physical Education * Neuronet

For seventy years, young students have celebrated the continuation of a rare and special learning journey at Boyd Buchanan Lower School. An interdisciplinary, child-centered approach is the cornerstone of our learning community. Students are afforded the opportunity to strive, succeed, and flourish in a Christ-centered environment. 

Students participate in daily Bible lessons/devotionals and weekly chapel experiences. Monthly service projects encourage our students to serve others with the heart of Jesus. Our desire is to lead students to love God and others. 

Through project-based learning, students work collaboratively, solve problems, and think critically.  Our faculty uses innovative instruction to nurture an engaging, academic environment which promotes creative student-centered learning. Academic experiences are enriched through student-created projects such as:

  • Art Museum 

  • Chapel 

  • Kindergarten Circus 

  • Musical productions 

  • Authors’ Tea

  • Colonial Day

  • Farmers’ Market 

Each day we are committed to our students entering and leaving Boyd Buchanan feeling loved, safe, empowered, and successful.

Lower School Administrators

Stacy Risley

Titles: Lower School Division Head

Maria Sessions

Titles: Lower School Assistant Division Head

Carrie Willmore

Titles: K-8 Curriculum Coordinator, K-12 STEM Director

Lower School Faculty

Tonya Barnett

Katie Beckham

Lori Bowen

Amy Boyanton

Julie Brown

Amy Butcher

Laura Cupp

Jayna Daniels

Kim Derrick

Kelly Floied

Edie Floyd

Taylor Garibaldi

Amanda Gerber

Jennifer Gray

Mallonee Haislip

Kayla Halstead

Amanda Harrison

Brenda Hedrick

Lisa Holland

Amy Hunter

Bridget Johnston

Jennifer Jones

Shana Kent

Ruthie Kilgore

Todd Ledbetter

Amie Lusk

Debbie Lusk

Julie Mathis

Karen McInturff

Kathryn Morgan

Julie Puryear

Bonnie Ray

Geunita Ringold

Janna Rios

Sandy Rogers

Michelle Rudolph

Anna Scharff

Katelyn Statom

Stacy Tapp

Sarah Turbeville

Elizabeth Woodruff

Sarah Wright

Patricia Zumbrun